BOARD OF INVESTMENT TRUSTEES MONTGOMERY COUNTY EMPLOYEES' RETIREMENT SYSTEM

MINUTES – OPEN SESSION

Friday, November 19, 2021

(via ZOOM Video Conference)

Board Members Present: Joseph Beach

Jeff Buddle Barry Kaplan Christine Kelleher Marlene Michaelson

Gino Renne Deborah Snead Brian Swain Kelda Simpson

Staff: Linda Herman

Marc Esen

John Feketekuty Kevin Killeavy Darrin Arbaugh Ben Merrill Yan Yan Min Tang Jessica Guo Priti Mehta

Others Present: Benjamin Legum, Office of the County Attorney

Phillip Nelson, NEPC Margaret Belmondo, NEPC Brad Atkins, Franklin Park

Ryan Sullivan, Aberdeen Standard

Jeff Gardner, Bridgewater Bill Sweeney, Bridgewater Steve Secundo, Bridgewater Katie Bruce, Bridgewater

Sara Al-Moukadem, Wellington

Mike Marino, Wellington

Radhika Iyer

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Buddle called the open session of the Board meeting to order at 11:05 a.m.

Approval of Consent Agenda: Mr. Michaelson moved, and Mr. Kaplan seconded, and the Board approved the items listed on the Consent Agenda.

DETERMINATION OF MEETING

The Board unanimously approved a motion to move into closed session at 11:07 a.m. for the purpose of discussing the investment of public funds, pursuant to Maryland Code, General Provisions Article, 3-305(b)(5).

The Board moved back into open session at 11:25 a.m.

<u>Annual Report – ESG</u>: Ms. Herman presented the annual report to the County Council on ESG which is required by law. The annual report will include a generic explanation of the increase or decrease in fossil fuel investments. Ms. Michaelson moved, and Mr. Kaplan seconded, and the Board unanimously approved transmitting the report to the County Council.

There being no further business of the Board, the open meeting session adjourned at 11:27 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Deborah Snead

Deborah Snead, Secretary